24/7 Online Support

Welcome. Find immediate help, ongoing therapy, information and resources.

Are you in danger?

If you are in immediate danger of seriously harming yourself or being harmed by someone else, we recommend calling 911 or going to the nearest hospital emergency room. If you are struggling with thoughts of suicide, the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline can help at 1-800-273-TALK (8255).

Online SupportLine
Confidential online chat support offered 24/7

Available now 24/7

1in6 has partnered with RAINN to offer our ‘Online SupportLine’ for men and for people who care about them, who are seeking immediate information and resources related to unwanted or abusive sexual experiences in childhood.

What services does the Online SupportLine provide?

  • Crisis intervention and support
  • Answers to your questions about recovering from childhood sexual abuse
  • Information about medical, emotional and behavioral issues related to abusive experiences
  • Explanations of the criminal justice system, and what you might expect if you report the abuse
  • Referrals to resources in your area
  • Information for family and friends of the person who may have had unwanted or abusive sexual experiences

Online Peer SupportGroup
Confidential virtual support group for male survivors of sexual abuse

Join a Support Group

As part of ongoing innovation at 1in6 we’re providing the ‘Online Peer SupportGroup’ (PSG) for men who are seeking a community of support as well as information and resources related to unwanted or abusive sexual experiences in childhood.

PSG is a peer support group program designed for male survivors of childhood sexual abuse. Its purpose is to support men in their journey of trauma recovery.

To assist participants in this goal, a 1in6 moderator (who is a professional counselor) will facilitate the discussions with participants about issues relevant to their experience of abuse, and their current efforts in recovery. Another 1in6 representative will also be present during the sessions to serve as a "gatekeeper" to safeguard against inappropriate or harmful comments, or intervene in the event that a particular participant appears to be in need of individual attention or clinical therapy. 

With its focus on education and mutual support, participants will benefit from informed guidance by the counsellors, and be guided in their understanding of the process of trauma recovery.  

There is no assessment process to participate in PSG.

Each session is ninety minutes long. Scroll down to see dates and times.

What services does the Online Peer SupportGroup provide?

  • Mutual support with a safe community for men who've had similar unwanted experiences
  • Completely private and anonymous participation
  • An exploration of coping mechanisms and communication and interpersonal skills
  • Information concerning family and friends and their role in supporting a person who may have had unwanted or abusive sexual experiences
  • Answers to your questions about recovering from childhood sexual abuse
  • Information about medical, emotional and behavioral issues related to abusive experiences
  • Referrals to resources in your area (when available)

To join an Online Peer SupportGroup, return to this page at the session time and click on the arrow at the top of this section to join the session. While this is an open group and you can come and go as you please, we encourage you to attend sessions regularly to establish a sense of safety and consistency within the group.

Current Online Peer SupportGroup schedule:

Wednesday Group
Dates: April 27, 2016 - June 29, 2016
Time: 5:00 - 6:30 PM PT (6:00 - 7:30 PM MT, 7:00 - 8:30 PM CT, 8:00 - 9:30 PM ET)

Monday Group
Dates: May 2, 2016 - July 4, 2016
Time: 7:00 - 8:30 PM PT (8:00 - 9:30 PM MT, 9 - 10:30 PM CT, 10 - 11:30 PM ET)

Please note that the Online Peer SupportGroup is designed as a peer-support group, not group therapy. 1in6 will provide a licensed therapist as a facilitator during the sessions, only to offer information, answer questions, and assist in keeping the discussion on track. The facilitator's presence is not intended to provide an experience that would replace or substitute for regular group or individual therapy. We encourage Online Peer SupportGroup members to access therapy with a licensed clinician whenever possible.

Questions? Email info@1in6.org

Browse in this section

Help make this page better for everyone.