24/7 Online Support

Welcome. Find immediate help, ongoing support, information and resources.

Are you in danger?

If you are in immediate danger of seriously harming yourself or being harmed by someone else, we recommend calling 911 or going to the nearest hospital emergency room. If you are struggling with thoughts of suicide, the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline can help at 1-800-273-TALK (8255).

National Helpline for Male Survivors
Chat with a trained advocate, 24/7

Chat one-on-one with a trained advocate through this national helpline—available 24/7 as a confidential resource for anyone affected by the sexual abuse or assault of men.

What services does the helpline provide?

  • Crisis intervention and support
  • Answers to questions about recovering from sexual abuse
  • Information about medical, emotional, and behavioral issues related to unwanted or abusive experiences
  • Explanations of the criminal justice system, and what you might expect if you report the abuse or assault
  • Referrals to resources in your area, when available
  • Information for family and friends of the person who may have had unwanted or abusive sexual experiences

Online Support Groups for Male Survivors
Join anonymously, facilitated by a professional counselor

Join a community of men healing, together.

Monday Group - For male survivors of childhood sexual abuse
Time: 7:00 - 8:30 PM PT (8:00 - 9:30 PM MT, 9:00 - 10:30 PM CT, 10:00 - 11:30 PM ET)

Wednesday Group - For male survivors of childhood sexual abuse
Time: 5:00 - 6:30 PM PT (6:00 - 7:30 PM MT, 7:00 - 8:30 PM CT, 8:00 - 9:30 PM ET)

Thursday Group - For male survivors of adult sexual assault
Time: 4:00 - 5:30 PM PT (5:00 - 6:30 PM MT, 6:00 - 7:30 PM CT, 7:00 - 8:30 PM ET)

Please be sure to join on time. We reach room capacity at 12 participants and close the door 30 minutes after the start of each session.

These support groups are for men who are seeking a community of support as well as information and resources related to unwanted or abusive sexual experiences. The purpose is to support men in their journeys of trauma recovery.

To assist participants in this goal, a 1in6 moderator (a professional counselor) will facilitate discussions with participants about issues relevant to their unwanted or abusive experience and their current efforts in recovery. An additional 1in6 team member will be present during the sessions to serve as a "gatekeeper" to safeguard against inappropriate or harmful comments, or intervene in the event that a particular participant appears to be in need of individual attention or clinical therapy. 

With its focus on education and mutual support, participants will benefit from informed guidance by the counselors and be guided in their understanding of the process of trauma recovery.  

There is no assessment process to participate. Each session is ninety minutes long.

What services do the online support groups provide?

  • Mutual support with a safe community for men who've had similar unwanted or abusive sexual experiences
  • Completely private and anonymous participation
  • An exploration of coping mechanisms and communication and interpersonal skills
  • Information concerning family and friends and their role in supporting a person who may have had unwanted or abusive sexual experiences
  • Answers to your questions about recovering from sexual abuse or assault
  • Information about medical, emotional and behavioral issues related to unwanted or abusive sexual experiences

To join a group, return to this page at the session time and click on the arrow at the top of this section to join the group. While these are open groups and you can come and go as you please, we encourage you to choose one group and attend sessions regularly to establish a sense of safety and consistency within the group.

Please note that these groups are designed as a system of support, not group therapy. 1in6 will provide a licensed therapist as a facilitator during the sessions, only to offer information, answer questions, and assist in keeping the discussion on track. The facilitator's presence is not intended to provide an experience that would replace or substitute for regular group or individual therapy. We encourage group members to access therapy with a licensed clinician whenever possible.

Questions? Email [email protected]

 

Browse in this section